now reading
new band

Josh Berwanger unveils new project

After the second breath of his Lawrence country-tinged rock group The Only Children had a lifespan rivaling that of the Mayfly late last year, Josh Berwanger (The Anniversary) temporarily fell out of sights for the local music area once again. Yesterday, the songwriter revealed his new project that simply uses his own surname as the project’s title. Joining Berwanger is Ricky Salthouse (The Only Children, Cavaliers, and OK-based The Workweek and Sharktooth), Marc Benning (34 Satellite, Carrier), Jim MacPherson (Guided by Voices, The Breeders, The Amps – I know!), and Carly Gwin (The Workweek, Sharktooth).

The new project more or less picks up where his last project left, venturing into a stringy, spaghetti western lull with breathy co-ed vocals, and gives a nice taste of what may be to come from the band’s future studio recordings. Anyone who remembers and still listens in earnest to the early ’00s project Canyon from KC ex-pat Brandon Butler will no doubt enjoy what is heard here. No video to embed unfortunately, but you can stream it on the band’s facebook page, and it is suggested you do so post-haste.


About Greg

The purpose of Riot on the Plaza is simply to get some names out there that may have otherwise been overlooked, both from today and from years past. This blog is just a place where I can nerd out about bands I enjoy, and I hope you enjoy it as well.



  1. Pingback: BERWANGER - August 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

The Archive

%d bloggers like this: